top of page

How to start? an aspiring virtual assistant struggle

It has been my dilemma for the past months to find the key to the gates of the Freelancing kingdom. I admit I was a bit adamant to change from corporate to home-based job. It was a little scary as I am used to the typical employee life, that is submitted resume - interview - training and the company will do the rest. You just have to follow the rules. It was convenient in a way, but after many years of being in that cubicle and bearing with corporate politics and stressful environment, I realized it's not working out for me. I am in the very same place as I started years ago, an employee who only looks forward to payday and day off. So I decided to quit and waited for 6 months. Yes, I waited that long because I don't really know what path to take next. Besides, I also thought it is the best time to try and get pregnant as we've been wanting to have a baby for a long time. Anyways, that's another story. So after 6 months, I started to take interest in freelancing. I would watch a couple of videos on YouTube and read some blogs about success stories on freelancing. Most of them are pretty convincing. And then I saw a Facebook post about a cheap package for a freelancing course. I took it because it's cheap. $17 dollars for all courses? who wouldn't want that? I was excited at first but got really disappointed after a week. I just felt I am on my own and didn't have the support I am looking for. Was it a rip-off?. I guess not. It just didn't work for me. So I decided to just get a part-time ESL tutor position and moved on. Then one day, I bumped into a post on my Facebook news feed. It was FVA Academy. I checked their website and read about their promos. I hesitated at first but took a leap of faith. I don't have the luxury to spend more since I just started tutoring and the fee is a bit expensive compared to the last one.I waited until January 2020 for the first class to start. I started with SEO-In Depth course under Coach Grace. I was "shookt", as per millennial would say, because it was new to me. I struggled a lot during the first portfolio assignments. I decided to also create my own website and it was a mess. I was just all over the place. Thankfully Coach Grace is always an email away. Even on chat, she is responsive. I learned a lot while doing each coaching session. I started to create my own calendar and write each task to do every day. I am managing my time little by little. I also started to do away with time wasters like mobile gaming, social media, and Netflix. I just set a separate time for them and on a minimum. After I got the gold certificate for SEO and then enrolled in SMM And Freelancing course. And my world is enlightened! I found the key! There a lot of niches I discovered and are discovering every after the lesson. Apart from that, I started to take video tutorials from different platforms. Learning is really fun. And so the next challenge for me is finding my "the one" (destiny) client. Someone I can work with for a very long time and possibly help grow her/his business. I got rejections, yes. A lot. But I don't take them personally. I am just happily waiting and doing my thing now. Discover!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page